Okay. I know that I have not posted in a terrible long time, but I’ve had some ongoing medical problems, a crazily messed up schedule for junior year that still does not perfectly work out (had to drop a few classes – 😦 ), and just general end of the year wrap up stuff. Oh, and I’m doing a research project at the local historical society. I feel sooo cool and it’s exactly what I want to do for the rest of my life.

But… today was a really big day for me. I spent all day at the clinic, which was terribly boring and hurt my feet. I had to walk around in a special outfit with “high” heels (high for me – an inch and a half) from the twelfth to the first and all around. See… I went to a talk given by none other than DORIS KEARNS GOODWIN!

She was amazing and completely made up for my disappointment in David McCullough never writing back (I gave up hope a while back… it’ll be a year in two months.) There was not a signing, but I went down to the podium afterwords. I was literally teetering because I was shaking so much. My mom really pushed me down there (she says she literally pushed me, but I don’t recall) and I told her that I love her books and want to be an historian. I got a picture with her and she was very down to earth. I did not get to ask my question during the question and answer session, so she told me, extremely caring and kindly, that she’d be glad to talk with me. EEK! So, I’m terribly excited. I don’t know how I’m going to sleep tonight. Even if she does not write back, she was so sincere that I think this day really made my entire summer fabulous.

I need to sleep. Have not had a great sleep since Sunday since we had our wood floors refinished and it stinks.

Oh, I didn’t tell about the floors. I’ve got a lot going on I guess.

Doris Kearns Goodwin. I can’t believe I met her two hours ago!

