I don’t have school today because last night we had an awful storm. Our yard is filled with leaves, branches, brambles, and nuts that shouldn’t have fallen until late fall. We even had an enormous branch, probably twenty feet or so, fall on our fence.

Nevertheless, I expected there to be school since we have power, But when I was about to get out, I was told that we didn’t have school! I’m not even sure why, since I saw a few lights on inside it. Perhaps we have a generator…?

So right now I’m taking a deep breath. Not exactly relaxing, still working, but calm. I have an AP Euro test and an Honors Physics test this week I think (thought this day off may have changed that) so I’m filling out study guides.

I have read a few books recently (longer reviews will come soon) or a long time ago that I never reviewed.

Purge by Sarah Darer Littman – I read this on and off the first week of school. I really enjoyed it and thought it had a intriguing plot. Janie is builimic, but I can’t say too much more since I’d give it away. It’s basically about her coming to terms with her problem and realizing why she threw up. It’s definitely an older teen book, but I would feel completely comfortable giving this to kids with eating disorders my age. Unlike Perfect by Natasha Friend, Purge shows bulimia as a serious disorder that won’t simply go away with a half-hearted decision. It’s real, and it’ll grab you in.

The Adoration of Jenna Fox – I have to say that I did not enjoy this book. It was such a good premise, but lacked so many elements. I think it could have been better executed by a different author. I had problems with little mention of environment other than seeds, and the relative similarity to our society. The Bio-Gel was out of place in a society that was not very different than ours. I hardly think that Bio Gel could be invented for another two centuries at least, but most other apparatuses could be seen in my lifetime or are already in development. The writing seemed to scream for attention, with the odd spacing and gray pages, but it didn’t live up to the reviews.

The Muse of the Revolution: The Secret Pen of Mercy Otis Warren and Nicholas and Alexandra will be written about later today if I have the time…

