I can’t say that I recommend this book. There’s profanity, bad decisions, and unlikely situations all put in one book. This is not to say that these situations don’t happen every day; It was just against the main character’s personality. And I had one major problem: Couldn’t she have just gone to a school authority for help? With these major warnings, I start my review.

Zoe Beth gets extremely aggravated when her teacher Mrs. Garrett mispronounces her name. Infact, she swears and gets suspended once again. To many, Zoe is just one more rebel teen. Quite the contrary, Zoe is smart and witty, and just has a hard time at home. Her mother is an alcoholic who hardly remembers to feed herself. Her brother has been sent away to the suburbs to live with her affluent aunt and uncle.

With the stress of high school and her mother building up, Zoe nearly breaks and rents a room on Lorelei street. She tries to manage on her own, working at a deli, Murray’s, and spending the least amount of money on food as possible. Soon, she is deeper into trouble than before… her grandmother, who doesn’t believe that her daughter, Zoe’s mother, is an alcoholic, learns that she left her mother.

I think this book had a great premise. I really do. Somehow, Zoe made a horrible decision halfway through the book that really turned me off. I couldn’t stand keeping reading, but I did, just to see what happened in the end. The end was also dissapointing. The book seems to end just where it started, with Zoe going through a lot of trouble for little or no change.

I hope Mary Pearson’s book The Adoration of Jenna Fox lives up to my now slightly dampened expectations.

