Recently, I went to a Lynne Rae Perkin (author of Criss Cross) and Kevin Henkes (author of Olive’s Ocean and Bird Lake Moon) signing at my library. I had a wonderful time.

I was outnumbered by their younger readers by far; I saw no other teen, or even pre-teen reader attending the event. Despite this, both authors aimed their talk at their middle grade/young adult readers. Lynne Rae Perkins read from Criss Cross where Hector explores the ravine. She was a wonderful reader- I loved watching the little kids be entranced by her story and terrific reading skills. Kevin read from Bird Lake Moon, one of my favorite scenes, the second chapter. I think it was too poignant for many of the kids to understand, but I adored it.

signing Criss CrossAfterwards, I had the chance to speak to both Kevin Henkes and Lynne Rae Perkins. I spoke with Lynne Rae Perkins first, and let me tell you, she is very nice. Here’s a picture of her signing a huge cut out of Criss Cross for Barnes and Noble or my library (I’m not quite sure which…). I was really nervous to speak to her, since she had won the Newbery, but she was so sweet.

I got my books signed by Kevin Henkes then. I think Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse was my all time favorite book when I was little. I knew every word of that book and related to Lilly so much. It was so cool to get him to sign my books. I’m still trying to get a picture of him up, but it’s not working right now.

Next week- Gail Carson Levine!

