I did a quick interview with Liz Kessler, the author of the Emily Windsnap series. She’s from the United Kingdom (Goodness! My first out-of-country interview) and when I first read her book in sixth grade, I decided I “wanted to be British” to write fabulous fantasies like her. I also decided I wanted to be a mermaid, but I knew that would never happen. She’s here at Look Books today. She has written three books available here in the United States; The Tail of Emily Windnap, Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep and Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist.

Do you plan on writing any YA or Adult books?
At the moment, I plan to keep on writing books for the same age group
and audience as the Emily Windsnap books. No other plans, but you
never know – maybe one day!

What are some of your favorite mermaid stories?
Ingo by Helen Dunmore is a wonderful book. Also, The Fish in Room 11
by Heather Dyer is lots of fun.

What kind of research did you do for the Emily Windsnap series? I imagine that it would be quite hard to write about being a mermaid.

I spent a lot of time by the sea and watched lots of programmes like
The Blue Planet. For the Monster from the Deep, which is set in the
Bermuda Triangle, I went to Bermuda! I went out snorkelling every day
then sat on the beach with my notebook, writing about what I’d seen.
And for the Castle in the Mist, I spent a couple of weeks at St
Michael’s Mount in Cornwall, which inspired the story.

Did you plan on writing a sequel to The Tail of Emily Windsnap?
When I wrote it, I had no plans for a sequel, but then it happened
anyway! My publisher was keen for a sequel, and I knew I had more to
write about Emily.

I find the character of Mandy most interesting. When writing The
Tail of Emily Windsnap, did you know she was really a “good”
character?

Not at all! Mandy, like Mr Beeston, is someone who we could see as
being ‘bad’ but in many ways is a product of the things that have
happened to her, and underneath, both of them really want to be good.
I’m glad she turned out to be all right in the end!

What books are you working on now (this might be the same as the
first question)?
My fourth book, Philippa Fisher’s Fairy Godsister, has just come out
in the UK. This is the first of a new series. I’ve just this week
finished the second book of this series, which is called Philippa
Fisher and the Dream Maker’s Daughter.

Who are your favorite authors?
Gosh. Too numerous to mention. I like all sorts. I read a lot of
children’s books and I guess Jacqueline Wilson is a particular
favourite. But I also read lots of adult’s books too and I
particularly like people like Nick Hornby, Jodie Picoult, Anita
Shreve, Marian Keyes, Ben Elton – and loads more! Best book ever –
The Time Traveller’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger!

Thanks!

