Which book do you irrationally cringe away from reading, despite seeing only positive reviews?
I cringe away from… hmm… I really can’t think of anything. I suppose I cringed away from Into the Wild before I read it, because I have this weird thing about pink silhouettes. I just can’t stand most of them! Well, I’ve gotten used to them becuase they are on so many books like Evolution, Me & Other Freaks of Nature, Perfect and Into the Wild.

If you could bring three characters to life for a social event, who would they be and what would the event be?
We-ell, the first character is obvious. I would bring Casey from Evolution, Me & Other Freaks of Nature to life, because he’s Casey. We would got out to some little cafe and talk about Lord of the Rings and all that cool stuff. And of course we would go shopping at a bookstore together. The other two characters? Hmph. I’d actually be happier with just Casey, but if I must choose two more, than they would be Ananka Fishbein and Millicent Min. That would be after I talked with Casey, though.

You are told you can’t die until you read the most boring novel on the planet. While this immortality is great for awhile, eventually you realize it’s past time to die. Which book would you expect to get you a nice grave?
Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry by Mildred Taylor. I read it in third grade and couldn’t stand it. I’ll admit that it is probably a fabulous book, I just can’t bring myself to reread it.

Come on, we’ve all been there. Which book have you pretended, or at least hinted, that you’ve read, when in fact you’ve been nowhere near it?
Yep. I’ve hinted a few times I think that I have read something. I definitely can compare to that, yet I can’t remember a specific experience.

As an addition to the last question, has there been a book that you really thought you had read, only to realize when you read a review about it/go to ‘reread’ it that you haven’t? Which book?
Not really… I don’t think that has ever happened.

You’re interviewing for the post of Official Book Adviser to some VIP (who’s not a big reader). What’s the first book you’d recommend and why? (if you feel like you’d have to know the person, go ahead of personalize the VIP)
The first book I recommend would be The Goose Girl, The Book Thief, Jane Eyre or To Kill a Mockingbird depending upon the person.

A good fairy comes and grants you one wish: you will have perfect reading comprehension in the foreign language of your choice. Which language do you go with?
French, probably. I already know french well enough to understand most middle-grade (sometimes even YA) books, so I might pick Latin or German.

A mischievous fairy comes and says that you must choose one book that you will reread once a year for the rest of your life (you can read other books as well). Which book would you pick?
I would pick To Kill a Mockingbird because it is possibly my favorite book. I every time I read it, I am amazed at Harper Lee’s skill with language.

I know that the book blogging community, and its various challenges, have pushed my reading borders. What’s one bookish thing you ‘discovered’ from book blogging (maybe a new genre, or author, or new appreciation for cover art-anything)?
I rediscovered fantasy. I used to be a huge fantasy fan
That good fairy is back for one final visit. Now, she’s granting you your dream library! Describe it. Is everything leatherbound? Is it full of first edition hardcovers? Pristine trade paperbacks? Perhaps a few favourite authors have inscribed their works? Go ahead-let your imagination run free.

If I was rich, I would be like Elinor from Inkheart (not that I liked the book tons…). I would want an enormous house, with hundreds of thousands of books. I would want first editions of very old books, trade paperbacks, and everything in between. My library wouldn’t be “public” but all the little children of the neighborhood would be free to read (as long as they didn’t leave the house) my books. I can’t decide what my library would look like, though. I would want all the rooms consistent in the same design.

I like this library, but with less elaborate flooring.

From this photo, I want the sort of balcony thing.

And this, my friends, is my dream library. No, I am not shrinking it. I will let you see it in all it’s beauty.

A great quote where I found this library is “My library was dukedom large enough”
-Prospero, The Tempest, William Shakespeare

Yeah, and those libraries cost like a hundred thousand dollars, books not included. *sighs* If only I had been born a millionaire. 😉

