Have you ever listened to music while reading? Well, this weird thing happens to me when I do that. If there’s some big event while I’m listening to a song, whenever I read that part or listen to that song, I remember them together.

For instance, I was listening to Elizabeth & the Catapult’s song “Momma’s Boy” while reading Al Capone Does My Shirts. I fell asleep. with it playing on repeat one. So… Now I associate that book with that song. It’s a bit annoying, because I really like the song, but now it has to bring up memories of the book. And the book, well, it sort of matches the lyrics, so that doesn’t really help. Hmph.

Also, in fifth grade, I was reading this for a book report. My friend was watching The Parent Trap, and right when James was taking his last walk in the garden (he had cancer), this really sad song came on. It made me cry, and whenever I see The Parent Trap, it makes me so sad.

It’s so odd… I could name a million experiences relating to music and books. I’m not even that into music, but it really does put emotions into what I’m reading. The songs just emphasize perfectly the feelings of the characters… except when they don’t match. 😀

Like I was listening to Our Song while my friend Spider was reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. She was telling me *SPOILERS* that Dobby had just died. No, that did not match at all. Sorta weird, actually. I stopped listening to my iPod at that point in the book (I was farther ahead, so I already knew what happened).

School starts tomorrow. *groans* I’ve been relaxing so much that it’s hard to go back. It’s a new semester, and *cheers* I HAVE ENGLISH!!! Oh yeah! That is so exciting. I love english so much. I’m going crazy right now for it to start.

