Ten-year-old Zoe has big dreams of playing a baby grand piano in Carnegie Hall. She imagines her fingers whizzing across the keyboard, without making any mistakes. Zoe is sure that when the chance comes, she will be a child prodigy.

When Zoe and her mom watch a special on a music prodigy, she realizes she only has seven years before she can play piano in Carnegie Hall if she wants to be like him. She convinces her Dad, who is afraid to leave the house, to buy her a piano.

He doesn’t buy a piano. A beautiful, ivory and ebony keyed piano. No, Zoe gets a wood-grained, vinyl-seated, wheeze bag instrument. Don’t know what that is?

Meet the Perfectone D-60

I really enjoyed this book. It feels like the kind of book my third grade self would have worshiped. With the covers pulled up, I would have sneaked into the squeaky hours of the night (I had to put that in, because it is true. For those of you who don’t know, Shannon Hale said “I couldn’t remember the last time I had stayed up into the squeaky hours of the night because I couldn’t put a book down, and that was a tragedy.”) until someone noticed the light. I would have read this all day in my third grade class, despite the fact that I was missing having a great time. A Crooked Kind of Perfect made me so nostalgic, and I suppose it deserves that reaction. It is a great, great book, just for a group a little younger than me.

I’ve seen a lot of books lately with covers that have feet. Book Crush, A Crooked Kind of Perfect, Candy Floss etc… I think that they’re being a bit overused. Just a bit. And toe socks. No one really wears toe socks… I guess I did when I was Zoe’s age, but now? I really don’t talk much to ten year olds. I guess I’ll ask the girl I babysit.

