The amazing Kiki Strike is back! And yes, folks, she’s in prime condition for another mystery. Perhaps better, I still can’t decide. The author, Kirsten Miller, is almost as elusive as Kiki Strike herself.
Kiki Strike 2
Okay, for those of you who have not heard of Kiki Strike, I’ll give you a brief summary of the first book. Ananka Fishbein, the narrator, finds a mysterious sinkhole in New York City. She follows a mud caked figure into the hole, and discovers a whole new world. Literally. Ananka becomes one of the Irregulars, and finds much more than a Nancy Drew mystery in the tunnels of Shadow City.

Back in book two, Ananka’s problems have multiplied by ten. She’s worried that her mother will send her to a remote boarding school. And Ananka is convinced that Oona Wong, an Irregular, is up to something, but she can’t convince Kiki that. Most of all, there are the mysterious squirrels. I really don’t want to give much away, so I’ll leave it at that.

I think I like The Shadow City more, if only because it can stand on it’s own. I wonder if I would have been able to read The Empresses Tomb without the knowledge gained by reading Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City. Still, I adored this book. I’m so glad that I bought it.

I think it’s odd that Kiki Strike isn’t more popular. I’ve heard people rave about it, but apparently all the stores in our state don’t think it is good enough to shelve. I had to order it from amazon (which I really don’t like doing, don’t ask me why) because no bookseller seemed to carry it, or want to order it.

I have to say, the one bad thing about this book was that it stopped me from cheering on my teammates at the cross country meet. Not kidding. :D. I couldn’t pry my eyes away from these pages. Definitely on my favorite books of the year list (coming in December!)

